Tempus Fugit 2004

  • previous production
  • next production

After ‘Rien de Rien’ (October 2000) and ‘Foi’ (March 2003) Sibi Larbi Cherkaoui presents a new project with Les Ballets C. de la B. as a commission from the Festival d’Avignon. Everyone throughout the world seems to work with the same concept of time. Yet the experience of time is lived and interpreted differently in different cultures. The mutual movements of the three celestial bodies, sun, moon and earth are the criterion for the human experience of time on earth. The experience of time formed by this symbolic triangle has become completely absorbed and as a result has some kind of power of life. How many people live in nostalgia for the past or dreams of the future? And why is the present often forgotten in this or given little room?

Sibi Larbi Cherkaoui wanted to compare cultural differences using the language of movement in ‘Rien de Rien’. ‘Foi’ asked the question ‘what do you believe in?’ In ‘Tempus Fugit’ the seeming absoluteness of time is considered. ‘Can you be the master of your own time?’

Now the musical group Weshm led by Najib Cherradi and the singer Isnel da Silveira are the musical partners. Eight dancers, three singers and a few musicians from different cultures start from their personal, cultural and migration experiences.


This is the third collaboration with Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui after “ook” and “foi” and an international tour is again in sight.


Director: Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Choreography: Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Music composition: Weshm, Najib Cherradi

Set design: Wim Van de Capelle, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Live music: Coordt Linke, Floris Dercksen, Osama Abdulrassol

Assistant choreography: Damien Jalet, Darryl E. Woods

Costume design: Isabelle Lhoas, Frédérick Denis, Lorraine Frennet

Light design: Carlo Bourguignon, Krispijn Schuyesmans

Video design: Olivier Spiro, Anaïs Spiro

Production / technical manager: Jan Mergaert, Serge Vandenhove, Iris Raspoet, Griet Van Laer

Sound design: Caroline Wagner

Producer: Les Ballets C. de la B.

Co-producer: Festival d’Avignon, Tanztheater Wuppertal, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Kunstencentrum Vooruit (Ghent)


Ali Ben Lotfi Thabet

Marc Wagemans

Nicolas Vladyslav

Serge-Aimé Coulibaly

Nam Jin Kim

Lisi Estaras

Damien Jalet

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Isnelle Da Silveira

Christine Leboutte