Myth 2007

  • previous production
  • next production

Using a composition technique comparable to a Brueghel painting, Myth creates a pictorial encyclopedia of mainly Western myths and archetypes, which are brought to life three dimensionally. The contemporary visual language of the Japanese manga is another source of inspiration. For Myth Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui brought together fourteen outstanding performers who have become partners in adversity. Singer Patrizia Bovi, a master of Italian traditional music, performs live on stage with her Micrologus Ensemble. Myth is the second part of a tryptique; if Foi was more socio-political and about surviving, Myth is clearly more about a psychological struggle. This time the characters are stuck in a purgatory resembling a big library. They wait patiently for a huge door to hopefully open and liberate them. In this colorful maze of traps and labyrinths, they are not as they were in Foi, surrounded by angels, but this time they literally face their shadows, which are known to come alive in the purgatory. The seven sins collide against the seven virtues, when finally the door opens. Where will it bring them?


Choreography: Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Music composition: Patrizia Bovi

Set design: Wim Van De Cappelle, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Live music: Ensemble Micrologus

Assistant choreography: Nienke Reehorst

Dramaturgy: Guy Cools

Costume design: Isabelle Lhoas, Frédérick Denis

Light design: Luc Schaltin

Production / technical manager: Mien Muys, Bram Smeyers, Patrick ‘Sharp’ Vanderhaegen

Sound design: Caroline Wagner

Technician: Sanne Roels, Paul Van Caudenberg

Wardrobe: Elisabeth Kinn Svensson, Monique Van Hassel

Producer: Het Toneelhuis (Antwerp)

Co-producer: DeSingel (Antwerp), Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), National Arts Centre (Ottawa), Concertgebouw (Bruges)

Photography: Koen Broos


Iris Bouche

Ann Dockx

Damien Fournier

Alexandra Gilbert

Milan ‘Mino’ Herich

Ulrika Kinn Svensson

Damien Jalet

Peter Jasko

Satoshi Kudo

Christine Leboutte

Sri Louise

Laura Neyskens

James O’Hara

Daisy Phillips

Marc Wagemans

Darryl E. Woods